Textbook for density matrix and trace?

In summary, there are a few textbooks that discuss the density matrix and trace, including Cohen-Tannoudji et al., Townsend, and Sakurai. These resources are suitable for graduate students without a focus on relativity.
Tspirit
I want a QM textbook which introduces detail knowledge of density matrix and trace (i.e. the average), who can recommend one for me? Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
At what level?

Cohen-Tannoudji et al. has a good discussion of the density matrix. The book by Townsend also addresses the topic.

DrClaude said:
At what level?

Cohen-Tannoudji et al. has a good discussion of the density matrix. The book by Townsend also addresses the topic.
Just non-relativity. I am a graduate student. Thank you.

I checked, and Sakurai also covers the topic. At your level, any of the references I have given will be accessible.

Likes Tspirit and vanhees71

1. What is a density matrix?

A density matrix, also known as a density operator, is a mathematical representation of the state of a quantum mechanical system. It contains information about the probability of a system being in a particular quantum state.

2. What is the significance of the trace in density matrix calculations?

The trace of a density matrix is equal to the sum of the diagonal elements, and it represents the average value of an observable in a given quantum state. It is also used to calculate the purity and entropy of a system.

3. How is a density matrix different from a wave function?

A wave function describes the state of a single quantum particle, while a density matrix can describe the state of a system with multiple particles. Additionally, a wave function is a pure state, while a density matrix can represent both pure and mixed states.

4. Can a density matrix be used to describe classical systems?