Transitioning to Physics after 10+ years in software, low gpa

In summary: Depending on the university, the Physics GRE may not be a valid method for demonstrating your aptitude. Come up with a list of universities that you are interested in (you didn't say: are you limiting yourself to India?). Contact the graduate physics admissions office at each; ask them whether they would even consider someone with your background (i.e., do you meet minimum entry criteria?); and, if they would, how they would evaluate your...background.
vinaysimhams
Hello everyone,

I am from India.I completed my Bachelors in Engineering, ECE to specific from a very average Indian college in year 2006 with many backlogs and year gaps.
Since then I have been working in the IT industry.I have a undergraduate percentage of 56%, using WES(https://www.wes.org/)calculator it come to a GPA of 3.07/4.00.
I regret my undergrad years very much...I want to do a Masters in physics and then do a PhD.I am very much interested in Quantum computing.
I will be 40 years old next year.What should i do to improve my chances of getting into a good Masters degree? Do i even have a Chance.?Please help.

Thanks !

Physics news on Phys.org
One thing you haven't really mentioned here is if you actually know any physics already. A good masters degree requires you to have the equivalent of a good undergraduate level physics education both to get in, and also to be able to succeed at the program (they don't pick these requirements just for fun). Do you already know physics, and do you have some way of demonstrating it to the admissions department at a university?

Office_Shredder said: