Transitioning to Physics from Neuroscience

In summary: Your long-term career objective is to work in theoretical physics? If so, you should definitely consider getting a PhD in some other field first and then switching to theoretical physics. This will allow you to have a better chance of getting a position in theoretical physics.
Emir Shark
Hello,

I am midway in my Ph.D. in computational neuroscience. The exact degree that I will have will be a doctorate in Applied Mathematics. I have always been interested in physics (E&M, QM). I have always known this but I was too afraid to pursue my passion. I am learning physics as I go and even planning on auditing some graduate-level classes such as statistical mechanics, quantum mechanics, and electrodynamics. I don't know what kind of researcher I want to be, I do like astrophysics though. I have a lot of programming background.

I know it is far more common for people to transition from theoretical physics to other fields such as neuroscience, quantitative finance. But what about the other way around? If I graduate with an Applied Math Ph.D., how hard is it to get into theoretical physics? I don't want my Ph.D. to brand me as a neuroscientist for life.

Any advice?

Physics news on Phys.org
Two things occur to me (these are not great revelations).
  1. If there is any flexibility in your thesis research you need to choose a direction towards your goal
  2. You will need the perfect POSTDOC position with contacts to an even more "physics" oriented position as a next step. Start to plan now.
Your assessment of the usual direction is correct: from general to specific. It has much to recommend it. But excellent work in anyone field is a pretty good indicator of future success and most people understand this . So do excellent work.

Thank you for your reply. I am trying to incorporate physics into my current thesis.

Likes hutchphd
Emir Shark said: