Trying to build a gas collecting chamber above a packed bed

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's plan to collect gas data from the headspace of their samples using a gas collecting chamber and calorimetric gas tubes. The speaker also mentions the importance of considering key parameters such as material, volume, gas tubes, stopcocks, and a pressure gauge. They seek advice and comments on their plan before starting the construction of the chamber.
jen0leb
Hi guys,

I'm a graduate student and currently doing some research on a packed bed - I want to collect gas data from the headspace of my samples so i thought of building a gas collecting chamber on top of the vessel, where i can take gas measurements using calorimetric gas tubes. I'm not sure where to start and what key parameters i should be looking out for first. I attached a sketch of what I'm thinking it should look like. The idea is that when i want to sample the gas i would close stopcock (1) - open (2) / (3) until the liquid fills about half the chamber > close (3) and (2) and open (1). Now that the chamber is filled i could open the aperture (4) and sample my gas. Once finished, i could use the drain to get rid of the liquid sample. I was also thinking of installing a cheap analog pressure gauge on the bottom of the chamber to get an idea of the hydro-static pressure. Please advise, would love to hear all your comments.http://imgur.com/a/aze9g

Engineering news on Phys.org

Hi there,

It sounds like you have a good plan in mind for collecting gas data from the headspace of your samples. Before you start building your gas collecting chamber, there are a few key parameters that you should consider:

1. Material: The material of your gas collecting chamber should be compatible with the gas you are collecting. For example, if you are collecting corrosive gases, you will need to use a material that is resistant to corrosion.