Ultrasound Nyquist limit conundrum

In summary, the conversation revolved around the concept of the Nyquist limit in ultrasound imaging and its relation to pulse wave Doppler ultrasound. The main question was why the Nyquist limit is determined by the PRF (pulsed repetition frequency) instead of the ultrasound transducer frequency. The group discussed how the time delay in pulse wave Doppler ultrasound helps separate reflections from different depths, and how the bandwidth of the receiver needs to be adjusted to accommodate the increased Doppler shift at higher frequencies. The conversation also touched on the challenges of integrating multiple pulses for improved resolution and the potential limitations of the cardiac system for this type of imaging. It was acknowledged that understanding this concept can be difficult and the textbooks may not provide a clear explanation.
HeartEcho
Hi all,
I work as a cardiac sonographer. I've been struggling to understand a concept as dictated in ultrasound textbooks and it regards the Nyquist limit.

During my work I observed that when I increased my ultrasound transducer frequency (e.g. from 1.7 MHz to 3.0 MHz) when using pulsed wave Doppler at a given depth, the maximal detectable velocity (i.e. Doppler shift) decreased; and vice versa.

The textbooks state that the maximal Doppler shift that can accurately be determined is based on the Nyquist limit (i.e. half the sample rate of a discrete signal processing system). I understand this concept. What I do not understand is why, in the case of pulse wave Doppler ultrasound, the Nyquist limit is determined by the PRF (pulsed repetition frequency): the Nyquist limit is half the PRF.