Understanding Light as Wave Doubts

In summary, the conversation discusses doubts about light as a wave in the context of solid state and optics experiments. The person asks about the representation of a light wave and its spatial frequency mode, as well as the concept of Brilloiun zone and Bragg reflection. They also inquire about the difference between plane waves and spherical waves.
russel.arnold
Doubts from "light as wave"

Hi all

I am a undergrad and in a week or so i || be performing basic solid state and optics experiments. I want u to clear my following doubts.

1. when we say that a light-wave can be written as A(x,y,z) exp(ikxx + kyy + kzz). What does it mean? I mean to ask what kx,y,z represent. Do they represent the angle with some plane at which it is propagating( if yes , which plane? )

2. When we say " spatial frequency mode of a light" what do we mean

3. How can i imagine Brilloiun zone wrt real space? What are the high symmetry points of a brilloiun zone and how it can be converted to irreducible brilloiun zone( eg ..1st brilloiun zone).

4. What is bragg reflection. How in a periodic medium it do not allow some spatial frequency modes to propagate through the medium?

Science news on Phys.org
5. What is difference between plane wave and spherical wave. How can i relate them to each other.Thanks in advance

Related to Understanding Light as Wave Doubts

1. What is light as a wave?

Light is a form of electromagnetic radiation that behaves like a wave. This means that it has properties such as wavelength, frequency, and amplitude, which are characteristic of all waves.

2. How does light travel as a wave?

Light travels through space as a transverse wave, meaning that its oscillations occur perpendicular to the direction of its motion. This allows light to travel through a vacuum, unlike other types of waves that require a medium to propagate.

3. Can light exhibit both wave-like and particle-like behaviors?