Vector components/coordinates question.

• Thread starter Physics345
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Vector
In summary: I'm not an expert in this field, that my understanding of the problem and solution justifies providing both.
Physics345

Homework Statement

The velocity of a plane is 625 km/h northwest.

a) Draw a diagram of this vector, including the magnitude and direction.
b) Determine the horizontal and vertical components of this vector. Round your answers to the nearest whole number.
c) Give the coordinates of the vector in Cartesian form.
d) Describe the direction of the vector in three other way.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

For this question my issue is with question c) is it literally asking me to pretty much repeat what I found in b) but in a different way. It seems really, unnecessary when I view it in this manner, making me doubt the answer. Therefore making my answer for either b) or c) wrong or maybe I'm just over thinking it would be great to get some peace of mind if anyone has the time to confirm for me.
Anyways here's my work:

y5nQpPa.png

Attachments

• y5nQpPa.png
    y5nQpPa.png
    21.6 KB · Views: 1,363
Physics news on Phys.org
I think using the term vertical and horizontal is not proper north component and west component should have been used.

Likes Physics345 and SammyS
Let'sthink said:
I think using the term vertical and horizontal is not proper north component and west component should have been used.
Um, I do not think that's true (I could be wrong, I'm no expert). My physics/calculus textbooks do the same thing. The horizontal refers, to the horizontal of the Cartesian plane that has been drawn above it, which can either be positive for down(south)/left(west) or up(north)/right(east) it is very clear where the horizontal/vertical is when it comes to 2 dimensional planes regardless of notation used. At least this is how I view it.

Let'sthink said:
I totally agree with @Let'sthink .