What are the charges of quarks and leptons?

In summary, the concept of charge is attributed to particles based on their interactions with other particles and fields. This includes electric charge, which is determined by the particle's movement in an electromagnetic field, and other types of charges such as color charge, which are assigned based on the overall properties of the particles they make up. Charge is also linked to symmetry transformations in field theory, and a particle's charge dictates how it transforms under these operations. Other intrinsic properties, such as spin, also behave like a type of charge.
Behrouz
Hello everyone,
I'm sorry if it's a dumb question, I'm very new in self studying particle physics.
May I ask when we associate a charge (i.e. positive or negative) to quark and lepton, is it only because of their attraction or repulsion toward each other? in other words, is it just to name one of their properties because the way they react to another particle's property?
Thank you so much in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Behrouz said:
May I ask when we associate a charge (i.e. positive or negative) to quark and lepton, is it only because of their attraction or repulsion toward each other? in other words, is it just to name one of their properties because the way they react to another particle's property?
From our usual /classical world experiences we have attributed charge to a particle or body based on the its interaction with other bodies- so it’s a characteristic attribute and can not be associated with a ‘material’ picture .
So ,you are right in saying <just to name one of their properties because the way they react to another particle's property?>

Such as flow of charges are not like “fluid flow” but movement of particles or fields in space.

The action at a distance between charges also is mediated by ‘particles’ which can be exchanged