What next for manual gearbox design engineers?

In summary: I have no idea what the career prospects are for a mechanical engineer with your level of experience.In summary, the conversation is about a mechanical design engineer with expertise in gears and NVH, who is concerned about the decrease in research and development for manual transmissions in the automotive industry. The engineer is considering upgrading their skills and moving towards mechatronics for better career prospects, but is unsure of the steps to take or if it can be done through part-time or online education while still working. They are seeking practical advice for their situation.
k.udhay
Simple questions are sometimes difficult to ask.

I am a mechanical design engineer of automotive gearboxes with a UG qualification and 12 years of experience. My core expertise is into gears and special interest in NVH. In the recent years I see the automotive OEMs cutting down research cost of manual transmissions and that's apparently giving me chills. More funding is diverted to advanced technology transmissions like AMT and DCT. One important thing I found here is the design team consists a huge proportion of people from software, Fuzzy (not sure about spelling), controls etc. compared to the mechanical engineers. The nearly there electric vehicles revolution is only making my apprehension worse.