Worried I am wasting my time pursuing a PhD

• Thread starter Hercuflea
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Phd Time
In summary, the speaker is a first year PhD student in mathematics who is considering leaving the program due to doubts about their abilities and future prospects. They initially pursued a PhD with the goal of obtaining a tenure-track academic job, but have since realized that this may not be attainable. The speaker is now weighing the costs and benefits of completing the program versus pursuing a different career path. They are also struggling with the "imposter syndrome" and feeling overwhelmed by coursework.
Hercuflea
I'm a first year PhD student (hopefully I can retain some anonymity on this forum.) in Mathematics at a respected university. Like many grad students, I'm worried that my choice to do this was or wasn't the right one. I have been reading about PhD life on forums for years, and I told myself I was willing to put up with the long hours and low pay because it was a noble cause and I wanted to do something that would make a positive impact on the world. I did a masters in physics and I did actually enjoy that quite a lot although my thesis wasn't as successful as I would have liked. At this point I've pretty much decided that I do not wish to pursue the academic career track. It was something I would have confidently told you I wanted to do about a year ago, but now I realize that I am a mediocre Math student at best compared to many of my peers (I currently have a failing grade in a grad level physics class - I've never gotten less than a C before in my life.), and those people are the ones who will go on and get the tenure track jobs. I am basically at the point where I need to decide whether to stay with the PhD and try to scrape by for 5 years in poverty, doing research in an area I have pretty much convinced myself is impossible to find a solution to (kinetic theory and turbulence), or to try and get a run of the mill software developer job