Nature's past experiment on global warming?

In summary, the defense attorney argued for the preservation of an old-growth tropical rain forest and a coral reef from tumultuous destruction by development, but believes that the destruction of marine biomes/marine life zones would be more detrimental.
Soaring Crane
Suppose I am a defense attorney--I am NOT--arguing for an underdeveloped old-growth tropical rain forest and a coral reef from tumultuous destruction by development.

If I could only save ONE, it would be the coral reef. (My instructor said something along the lines of: "The destruction of our marine aquatic zones is much more diasterious than the obliteration of our rain forests. . ." Of course, either scenario is very __________insert devastatingly negative adj. here__________ for the planet.)

My question is:

Why would the destruction of marine biomes/marine life zones be more detrimental?

Thanks for any replies.

Earth sciences news on Phys.org
https://www.physicsforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=9005&stc=1&d=1170188368

snip>

The Amazon now appears to be entering its second successive year of drought, raising the possibility it could start dying next year. The immense forest contains 90 billion tons of carbon, enough in itself to increase the rate of global warming by 50 per cent.

Nepstead expects "mega-fires" rapidly to sweep across the drying jungle. With the trees gone, the soil will bake in the sun and the rainforest could become desert.

Deborah Clark from the University of Missouri, one of the world's top forest ecologists, says research shows "the lock has broken" on the Amazon ecosystem and the Amazon is "headed in a terrible direction".

snip>

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/section/2/story.cfm?c_id=2&objectid=10392615

I thought Bill Gates already saved the rain forest. There must be a bug or something.

Attachments

• 24Amazon.jpg
    24Amazon.jpg
    12.2 KB · Views: 578