Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

6D calculation of spring-forces/moments

1. Feb 9, 2017 #1
    Hi,

I'm a student in electrical engineering and I'm writing my master thesis at the moment. Ironically I'm now confronted with the deformation of springs. I'm not a physics (!) but I think and hope that you may can help me. Simple push and pull forces are not the problem.
    I need to calculate all possible moments and forces and all possible combinations which can act on a spring. So I need to cover stress, torsion, shear, bending in all three spatial directions. My advisors told me to have a look at the beam theory but I didn't found an analogy for springs.

Can you help me?

Thanks in advance,
    Helferlein

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 9, 2017 #2

Nidum

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Why do you need to do this ??

4. Feb 9, 2017 #3
    The goal is to record the deformation with a camera and get the applied forces and moments out of this. It's some kind of a visual 6D force/torch sensor.

5. Feb 9, 2017 #4

Nidum

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

So you have a simple helical wire spring anchored at one end and free to move in all directions at the other end ?

There is nothing intrinsically difficult about working out the deflection of a spring under compound loading . Might take you a while though .

Conceptually you have to break the spring down into elemental lengths and match forces and deflections between adjacent elements all along the spring using analytic methods .

There is also an approximate method where it is assumed that the several types of flexure do not interact and that they can be analysed independently .

Alternatively use a numerical method based on a chain of discrete elements each of which consists of one full turn of the spring . Using matrix methods and some computer time a good model of the spring response could be developed .