A 23 year old getting his physics degree?

In summary: Hey guys,In summary, 23 year-old male is considering getting a degree in physics, but feels that he is too old. He is looking into doing his initial course work through MGC.
Terrk
Hey guys, Totally new to the forum, but I have been studying physics since the age of 16. I graduated at 16 from high school and applied to several colleges, I was accepted to a few awesome colleges, but because of my financial situation at the time, was unable to go to college. I since then have entered the air force in hopes to get my education paid for. But now I'm 23 and finally not deploying every year.

I recently got a new job located in middle GA( Not exactly the hot bed for an aspiring physicist). Now that I will be in GA for the next few years, I was figuring I would dip into my GI bill and attempt to get a degree in physics.

Once finished I would like to go on to get my PHD, but I cannot find a college that I can attend that has any sort of physics program in the local area. There were some online colleges, but that is something I do not want to get into. I have some college credit in Computer Science, but it's really not my thing. The more lectures I attend the more I want to pursue a degree in physics.

I just feel like it's too late to get a degree in physics! Does anyone know of a decent physics program located in middle GA?

Any help or information on a school or program would be great.

Physics news on Phys.org
By "middle Georgia" do you mean near Macon? Mercer University offers BS and BA in physics, and has an engineering school if you decide you want to go in that direction.

In ten years you'll look back on this post and realize how ridiculous it sounds. 23 isn't too later for anything - except maybe playing in little league.

Choppy said:
In ten years you'll look back on this post and realize how ridiculous it sounds. 23 isn't too later for anything - except maybe playing in little league.

Yep.