1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A block of mass m=0.2 kg, is pushed by a spring of stiffness k=300 N/m

1. Apr 24, 2017 #1
    I am currently taking a physics class and I'm studying for the final and I've been stuck on this problem and haven't been able to find help from the book nor help from online.

The professor said the answer was .56m, but I've been trying formulas for about an hour now and haven't been getting anything close to that.

Help please?

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

A block of mass m=0.2 kg, is pushed by a spring of stiffness k=300 N/m, initially compressed by A=10cm, up the 30° wedge. If the friction coefficient between the block and the wedge is 0.6, how far will the block pass in m along the wedge before it stops?

2. Relevant equations

I think:
    ω = √(k/m)
    T = (2π)/ω
    x = Acos(ωt + φ)

3. The attempt at a solution

ω = √(300/.2) = 7.7
    T = (2π)/7.7 = .82
    x = (10)cos(7.7*.82) = 9.99

Like I said, I've been trying different formulas for about an hour now, so I don't think I'm using the right ones.

Any help would be amazing, thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 24, 2017 #2

PeroK

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

The problem involves a wedge at an angle, gravity, a spring and friction? I'm not sure it's a good idea to use SHM, which would be about the frequency of oscillations of the system.

4. Apr 24, 2017 #3

PeroK

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

PS You might want to check those numbers. Do you have a diagram?

5. Apr 24, 2017 #4
    No, no diagram, that's all the information that I was given.

6. Apr 24, 2017 #5

PeroK

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member