Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: A doubt about frictional forces

1. Sep 24, 2010 #1
    Hello

I have some doubts in the phenomona of frictional forces. I am studying from the
    Serway's book. He says that direction of frictional force
    is always opposite to the relative motion between the two surfaces.For example, for a block of wood
    moving on the ground to the right, the force of friction exerted by the floor on the block will
    be directed to the left since the relative motion of the block with respect to the ground is to the
    right. This example is easy to understand. Now little more tricky example. A crate is located in the
    center of a flatbed truck. The truck accelerates to the east, and the crate moves with it, not sliding at all.
    Now the impending motion of the crate relative to the truck is to the west. So the direction of the friction
    (force exerted by the floor of the truck on the crate) will be opposite, i.e. in the east. So here's example
    where the force of friction is in the same direction as that of the motion of the truck.
    Now coming to the rolling friction, I am very confused. Consider a car going on a road. The tires
    of the car exert some force on the road. As a reaction to that, road exerts frictional force in the direction
    of the motion of the car. Now looking at the point of contact between the road and the tire, that point
    is momentarily at rest (am I right ?) with respect the road, so there is no relative motion there.
    So how does road exert this frictional force on the car ?

Thanks

Newton

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 24, 2010 #2