A Global Measure on a Gravitational System

In summary, the conversation discusses the simulation of gravity on a computer and the computation of a global measure to describe the dynamic of the system at each instant T. Various measures are suggested, such as the positions and velocities of each particle, the total energy, momentum, or angular momentum, and artificial measures created by the individual. The goal is to determine a measure M that can be used to compare the evolution of two systems with similar original configurations.
wildthing
Hi, I am a computer science engineer and I am trying to simulate the gravity on my computer; several objects with different masses randomly distributed in a Three-dimensional space. I would like to compute a global measure that describes the dynamic of that system at each instant T. My question is what kind of measure can I use?

Physics news on Phys.org
Your question is unclear. The system is uniquely characterized by the positions and velocities of each of the particles. You could plot this as a point in a 6N-dimensional phase space. What else are you looking for?

In my formalism, i see the system as a single entity, and i need to compute a measure that describes its state at each instant T. In other words i want to quantify the objects interactions, is there any measure that can do that kind of work or should i create mine?

I'm repeating myself, but the state of the system at time T is described by the positions and velocities of each of the particles. In other words, if I have three particles, the state of the system at time T is given by:
[tex]\psi(T) = \{ x1(T),y1(T),z1(T),vx1(T),vy1(T),vz1(T),x2(T),y2(T),z2(T),vx2(T),vy2(T),vz2(T),x3(T),y3(T),z3(T),vx3(T),vy3(T),vz3(T) \}[/tex]

You could look at derived quantities like the total energy, momentum, or angular momentum (all of which are constant), but it eventually all comes back to the description above.