1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A medical student who loves physics and wants to learn particle physics!

1. Dec 9, 2011 #1
    I'm a medical student, currently in my 2nd year of medical school in India. I'm absolutely fascinated by physics and if not for my dream of doing research in neurology i would have taken up particle physics.
    My physics knowledge is limited to what i learnt upto the 12th grade but i am willing to teach myself more.
    I want to get serious about it and study it to well enough for me to be able to do a few calculations maybe upto an undergraduate level.
    So my question here is how should i go about learning particle physics on my own. How do i start, what books should i read, in what order, etc.
    I would be grateful for any suggestions . Thank you :)

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 9, 2011 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Start by reading the Feynman lectures. They're a great set of books. After that you can look at each topic more indepth.

4. Dec 9, 2011 #3
    According to me, you should first of all go through the first volume of Landau alongside a bit of Linear Algebra and Analysis. Then, do some QM from Sakurai alongside some more Analysis and Topology. Also, do some Special Relativity from second volume of Landau and some other books like Schutz. Then you can go on to do GR and QFT which are usually considered as advanced undergraduate or graduate courses. For them you will need a lot of Maths but that's a long way to go. Once you reach there, you will have enough experience to figure out what suits best for you and pursue it.