Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A question about intersection of system of sets

1. Sep 9, 2011 #1
    The book I am reading says that [itex]\bigcap \phi[/itex] because every [itex]x[/itex] belongs to [itex]A \in \phi[/itex](since there is no such A ) , so [itex]\bigcap S[/itex] would have to be the set of all sets. now my question is why every [itex]x[/itex] belongs to [itex]A \in \phi[/itex].In other word I don't completely understand what this statement mean.

sorry if my question is silly.I began reading set theory for only 12 hours and I am new to the subject , I don't know if I had to take a course in logic first or not. If I must know logic , please recommend me to a book in logic .

Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 9, 2011 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Well, can you give me a [itex]A\in \emptyset[/itex] such that [itex]x\notin A[/itex]?? You can't because there is not [itex]A\in \emptyset[/itex]. So since you cannot give an example of an [itex]A\in \emptyset[/itex] such that [itex]x\notin A[/itex], must mean that [itex]x\in A[/itex] for all [itex]A\in \emptyset[/itex].

Also, please note that many authors leave [itex]\bigcap \emptyset[/itex] undefined. Why? Because there is not set that contains all sets.

4. Sep 10, 2011 #3
    Thanks
    Now I used the Axiom of schema to prove that [itex]\bigcap S [/itex] exists for all S except
    [itex]S = \emptyset[/itex], will that proof will be right

Last edited: Sep 10, 2011
  5. Sep 10, 2011 #4
    I forgot , Must I take a course in logic ?

6. Sep 19, 2011 #5
    Mahmoud,

In ZF,
    [tex] \bigcap \emptyset = \emptyset [/tex]

since the set of all sets does not exist in ZF, and
    [tex] \forall B (B \in \emptyset \Rightarrow x \in B) [/tex]
    is vacuously true.

In NBG, however,