1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

ABET accreditation, should it be a significant factor?

1. Jul 20, 2015 #1
    I am a current student at the University of Cincinnati and I am in the Architectural Engineering program they have. The Architectural Engineering program they have there is new (I believe its been around for 3-4 years or so) and since its a 5 year program they haven't had a graduating class yet. I just recently found out that the program is not ABET accredited (and when I was coming in as a freshman I did not realize being accredited was a thing). UC is well known for their engineering programs so it makes me think that employers would take the colleges reputation into play when considering you for a job. However ABET only accredits programs and not colleges.

• Is it a big deal to not be accredited? (should I be worried)
    • If I am in the program now when it is not considered accredited and by the time I graduate it is accredited, would that mean I am accredited? (Using my logic it would make more sense that you have to go through an accredited program from start to finish to be considered accredited but i could be wrong.)
    • Should I consider transferring into an accredited engineering program?
    • opinions/comments?

Thanks!!

Last edited: Jul 20, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 20, 2015 #2
    ABET is very important in ME and EE. You should probably ask potential employers how important it is in your field.

4. Jul 20, 2015 #3

CalcNerd

Education Advisor
    Gold Member