Abstract Algebra self study question -- Are Calc I, II, III prerequisites?

In summary: Proofs and willingness to work hard are the most important qualities for success in abstract algebra.
heff001
Hi,

Are Calculus I, II, III courses a prerequisite requirement for studying Abstract Algebra? I have read that Proofs and a willingness to work hard is. I am studying Logic and Set Theory and want to study Abstract Algebra in the distant future. I am focused on Foundational and Pure Mathematics.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
No, calculus is not at all a requirement. At most, you'll see some examples from calculus which are not really essential and safe to skip. That said, you must have a certain level of mathematical maturity. As you mentioned, proofs and willingness to work hard is most important.

Likes IGU and heff001
micromass said:
No, calculus is not at all a requirement. At most, you'll see some examples from calculus which are not really essential and safe to skip. That said, you must have a certain level of mathematical maturity. As you mentioned, proofs and willingness to work hard is most important.
Thanks!

abstract algebra has very few prerequisites. e.g. ask yourself how many rotational symmetries a cube has. this is a problem in abstract algebra. more precisely theanswer is that the total number of symmetries equals the product of the number of vertices, times the numer of rotations leaving one vertex fixed. Thus the prerequisites for abstract algebra are mostly arithmetic.

The prerequisites of calculus are arithmetic, geometry, polynomial algebra, trigonometry,...

of course it depends how abstract your book makes it. the only reason for all the prerequisites is that some people feel you should have a lot of experience with many mathematical courses before essaying any "abstract" course.