1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Acceleration and Velocity Direction

1. Jan 22, 2012 #1
    Hi all!I am studying for MCAT physics and have couple of questions (see topic title).

Please see the pictures attached. (Pardon my art skills).

In the first scenario, a is perpendicular to v. Does that mean that object will move same direction as a, but with constant speed, since acceleration (a) has no x component?

In the second scenario, object will move NE, same direction as a, but its speed will increase, since acceleration a has an x component. Is that right?

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 23, 2012 #2

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi
    Look at each of those diagrams and ask yourself "What will the velocity (resultant) be after one second, then two seconds, then two hours, assuming the acceleration vector is constant (magnitude and direction)?"
    I assume that you know how to add vectors so all that's necessary is that you apply that carefully. You will get the answer all by yourself.

PS Powerpoint is worth while getting to know, intimately. :wink:

4. Jan 23, 2012 #3
    Sophiecentaur,

Thanks for getting back to me, and yea I guess I should use PP, but I just wanted to impress everyone with my "paint" skills. JK :)

In the first case, a=0, so v initial=v final, with the object moving NE. After 1 sec, 2 sec or two hours, object still moves at the same speed. Right?

In the second case, a= some value (let's say it's x), so v final still points NE, but after 1 sec, 2 sec and 2 hours, object is increasing its speed respectively, as long as Delta V/Delta T ratio remains=x

5. Jan 23, 2012 #4

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member