Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Advanced Data Fitting - More than Simple Regressions

1. Jun 22, 2017 #1
    Hello All,
    I want to improve myself in data fitting in order to derive new equations for the data from experimental results and/or performance analysis. I am an engineering researcher and since I found some out-of-world formulations derived from performance data, I need to learn this advanced data fitting (or whatever its name is) discipline.
    Please guide me to the exact field name and/or books to achieve this skill. I guess that this is not just Math but also Physics so that one could put the relationship between the input data and/or dimensionless quantities.
    For example: How come one could derive this formulation for the correction factor data (LMTD heat exchanger) as shown below:
    Here is the formulation/expression:
    Correction_Factor.png
    For the graph:
    2017_06_22_10_06_52_Logarithmic_Mean_Temperature_Difference_LMTD_Correction_Factor_Charts.png
    Thank you in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 22, 2017 #2

FactChecker

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I think these equations must come from expertise in the physics of the subject matter rather than from a curve-fitting approach.

4. Jun 23, 2017 #3

Stephen Tashi

Science Advisor

Are you trying to derive new equations? Or are you trying to fit a family of equations that is defined by some constant parameters to data by estimating the values of the constant parameters?

5. Jun 23, 2017 #4