Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice on computer modeling a project

1. Sep 5, 2016 #1
    Hello,

I am using an arbitrary idea here to illustrate a question about computer modeling. I have a mechanical fan that uses xx power to produce a wind velocity of 50 mph in a calm environment. I want to know if a consistent wind blowing at 48 mph in the same direction as the fan is blowing will change the power requirement that the fan needs in order to still operate at 50 mph velocity, and determine exactly what that change would be.

I am not a mechanical engineer. If I want to input specs/data to complete a computer model are there suggestions? Should I Google "Mechanical Engineer" and find a local firm? Should I post in "gigs" in Craigslist? Should I put up a "hire notice" at UCLA Mechanical Engineering Department? Is there anyone on this forum that lives in the Los Angeles area and could perform this for a fee?

Jeff 310 936 2447

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 5, 2016 #2

billy_joule

Science Advisor

Power consumption will be what the fan requires to generate 2 mph wind in calm conditions.

4. Sep 5, 2016 #3
    I am not asking for an answer to the hypothetical. It was only an illustration. "I am using an arbitrary idea here to illustrate a question about computer modeling." I am asking for advice on how to connect to someone that can do computer modeling.

5. Sep 5, 2016 #4

billy_joule

Science Advisor

The specifics of what ever it is you want modelled will determine where finding your best chance for help is. Calling the most relevant engineering company you can find will probably lead to a result - if they can't help they can probably point you to someone who can.