1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice on lectures by Leonard Susskind

1. Apr 25, 2013 #1
    Hey guys just wanted some advice. I am an aspiring physicist. My main topics of interest are Particle Physics, Cosmology and Black Hole Physics. I have been planning to listen and study these lectures by prof and great physicist Leonard Susskind.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonard_Susskind#Lectures
    So right now my exams are over and college will start in october. So i got 6 free months with me. So i thought i will start with them. So i have 2 questions :
    1. Should i do the old core sequence or the repeated and new one? I am thinking of the new one as it will also probably have the new developments of all these years. I dont think doing both will be right.
    2. I am starting with quantum mechanis. I really dont like classical and quantum mechanics both. But i need to get a grip on quantum mechanics to understand the rest of lectures on particle physics string theory and cosmology. So i am leaving it out classical mechanics. Am i making a mistake? Or can i leave out quantum also. Will i need quantum to understand the rest of the lectures?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 25, 2013 #2

dx

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

No you cannot leave out quantum, nor can you leave out classical. They both cover basic ideas that you will need to know to follow later lectures on particle physics etc.

4. Apr 25, 2013 #3
    Indeed. The key in self-study is patience. I understand that you want to learn everything NOW (especially the more advanced topics), but the truth is that unless you take the courses in the appropriate order, you will keep going back and forth all the time.

5. Apr 25, 2013 #4

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor