1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice please : self-study

1. Jul 31, 2008 #1
    So I have finally decided to study physics and mathematics (starting from undergraduate level) on my own at home...
    Do you think its a good idea? Are there any well-known modern physicist who did not go to a university?

Also, what journals would you suggest that I shoud subscribe to keep in touch with the latest in physics ?
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 31, 2008 #2
    If you ever plan on having a job as a physicist or mathematician, I'd advise against it. It can be more difficult than you think to stay disciplined enough on reading and problem solving, and there's no way to get help if you get stuck. And no one anywhere will hire you for a math or physics job without some college (at least no jobs above student level).

You also miss out on important student and professor interactions... working with other students allows you to collaborate, something very necessary in any real research today... and you often can learn valuable things from your teachers. I wouldn't want to miss out on it...

If you aren't worried about a career and just want to study physics for fun, then I guess you're ok to study at home; you can get some basic publications like Physics Today that are broad and cover ideas from all fields of physics.

So I wouldn't do it unless of course you are insanely brilliant and can learn all of it alone, then proceed to publish your own papers by yourself. If you succeed at that then you'd be way ahead of me :biggrin:
  4. Jul 31, 2008 #3

Well i am a swing trader in the stock markets and thats my job... :D
    So I've got ample free time to study...

Really, physics for me, is not for career, but a tool to know the truth about our universe...