Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Amount of nuclear power need to propel a shuttle at the speed of light!

1. Nov 8, 2011 #1
    hello, my name is Zachary. i have little to no experience in astrophysics but i must say it is the most intriguing subject of discussion for me. what i believe i have worked out is the amount of nuclear energy (MeV) in megaelctronvolts, to propel a space shuttle (for a general number for M) at the speed of light. granted we haven't engineered a reactor capable to touch the number i have came up with but if there are any of you smart astrophysicists feel free to critique or correct my work.

J = joules
    MeV = megaelectronvolts
    KE = kinetic energy
    M = mass
    C = speed

easiest way to calculate energy in motion is KE= 1/2(m*v^2)
    shuttle in mass = 2,030,000 kg
    speed of light = C = 299,792,458 m/s

long story short the KE in joules = 9.12236506x10^38 J

nuclear power is measured in MegaElectronVolts (MeV)
    1 MeV = 1.60217653x10^-13 J

then you have to convert our KE in joules to MeV's
    9.12236506x10^38 J = 7.8018829506x10^14 MeV's