1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Angle between two vectors (Only by having their lengths)

1. Oct 28, 2015 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Ok guys, I'm studying Physics and I started, of course, by learning about vectors.

So I have this problem:

There are two vectors: A (its length is 3 m) and B (its length is 4 m). I have not other informations about them.
    I want to know how I can dispose them to get a vector S (which is A + B) such as:
    a) its length is 7 m.
    b) its length is 1 m.
    c) its length is 5 m.

Now, I know that the points a and b are obvious but I want a rigorous solution which is valid for point c and for every other length of the vector S.

2. Relevant equations
    Note
    : From now on when I write a I mean the length of the vector A. When I write b I mean the length of the vector B. Let's call o the agle between them.

Maybe this equation will be useful.

cos(o) = (A . B) / (a b)

3. The attempt at a solution
    I tried but I cannot evaluate the scalar product A . B because it is equals to (a b cos(o)). And if I replace it in the equation I have:

cos(o) = (a b cos(o)) / (a b) = cos(o)

I need your help.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 28, 2015 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Can you think of a way of writing the length of the composite vector using only the inner product and the lengths of A and B?

4. Oct 28, 2015 #3

RUber

Homework Helper

You have ##|A||B|\cos(\theta) =A \cdot B##. I am not sure that is exactly what you want to do, since C= A+B.