Any other books like David Acheson's "The Wonder Book of Geometry"?

  • #1
murshid_islam
442
17
TL;DR Summary: Looking for books similar to "The Wonder Book of Geometry" by David Acheson

I loved David Acheson's "The Wonder Book of Geometry". Can you recommend other books like that?
 

Answers and Replies

  • #2
14,200
8,189
While I haven't been able to see inside the book, the reviews on Amazon highly recommend it.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/019884638X/?tag=pfamazon01-20

It looks to be a popular math book for math amateurs and the public at large so based on that here are a few other books to check out:

- Math 1001 by Elwes: a kind of catalog of math discoveries and open problems by math field. It was here that I learned about hailstone numbers and the Collatz conjecture among other interesting open problems.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/019884638X/?tag=pfamazon01-20

- Mathematics from the Birth of Numbers by Gullman: many pictures and stories tracing math from earliest history to the present educating the student from middle school upto first/second year college. It covers from basic number systems upto Calculus, Differential Eqns, Linear Algebra and Statistics.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/039304002X/?tag=pfamazon01-20

- The Mathematics Bible by Beveridge: another catalog of math topics but more colorful. My favorite travel book.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1770857931/?tag=pfamazon01-20

Lastly, for the more serious math student:

- The Princeton Companion to Mathematics: a deeper catalog of math with many subject authors contributing to the book. Its heavy with more reading and a few diagrams and pictures.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/0691118809/?tag=pfamazon01-20

and its sister book on Applied Math

https://www.amazon.com/dp/0691150397/?tag=pfamazon01-20

The Princeton books are heavy reading and the book is physically heavy too.

Lastly, I mention a few others:

- ALl the Math You Missed for Grad School

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1009009192/?tag=pfamazon01-20

- Hogben's books are very old but I think he was the first to write extensively on Mathematics thru the ages:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1009009192/?tag=pfamazon01-20
 
  • Like
  • Informative
Likes Demystifier and murshid_islam
  • #3
murshid_islam
442
17
- Hogben's books are very old but I think he was the first to write extensively on Mathematics thru the ages:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1009009192/?tag=pfamazon01-20
Which Hogben book did you mean? The link is the same as the previous link you mentioned (All the Math You Missed).
 
  • #4
Daverz
1,001
74
Which Hogben book did you mean? The link is the same as the previous link you mentioned (All the Math You Missed).
Lancelot Hogben, Mathematics for the Million.
 
  • Like
Likes murshid_islam

Suggested for: Any other books like David Acheson's "The Wonder Book of Geometry"?

Replies
1
Views
544
  • Last Post
Replies
7
Views
1K
Replies
2
Views
612
  • Last Post
Replies
11
Views
1K
Replies
1
Views
538
Replies
2
Views
773
Replies
2
Views
596
  • Last Post
Replies
15
Views
903
Top