Application Fee Waiving for Internationals

In summary, many universities offer application fee waivers for international students to attract a diverse pool of applicants and make higher education more accessible. Eligibility for these fee waivers can vary, but typically low-income students, underrepresented groups, and high-achieving students may be eligible. The process for applying also varies, with some universities requiring financial information or academic achievements. It's important to research each university's application requirements to see if fee waivers are offered and what the criteria are. Not all universities offer fee waivers, so if your waiver is denied, you may need to pay the application fee. However, you can also reach out to the university or their international admissions office for additional options or resources for financial assistance.
kthouz
Hello!
I am a physics graduate student from Africa and I want to apply for post graduate studies in US universities. However, I facing a problem of application fee everywhere except PennState University which request for application fee when you've been admitted.
Does anyone know any other University that doesn't charge the application fee or which charges it after being admitted? Help please

Physics news on Phys.org
Almost all of them require the fee regardless of admission or not.

1. Why do some universities offer application fee waivers for international students?

Many universities offer application fee waivers for international students as a way to attract a diverse pool of applicants and to make higher education more accessible to students from different backgrounds.

2. Who is eligible for application fee waivers for international students?

Eligibility for application fee waivers for international students can vary between universities. Typically, students from low-income families, underrepresented groups, or those with exceptional academic achievements may be eligible for fee waivers.