1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Applied Physics and an Engineering Program in NL

1. May 10, 2012 #1
    Hello everyone, I'm new to PF. (My favorite fish is herring, so slap away. :smile:)

My question might be a bit complicated, because I suspect the answer depends a lot on location. I live in the Netherlands, and that's where I'm going to uni in september. (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, RuG) I'm going to do Applied Physics for my undergrad studies, and I'm wondering whether this would make it possible for me to go to grad school for a MSc or PhD in an engineering field - probably ME or EE (as I ultimately want to become an engineer).

The reason I'm not going to a college in a different part of town (The RuG doesn't offer engineering degrees apart from applied physics, which technically is an engineering degree where I live) in the first place are mostly because of financial reasons (but also for a few others I won't mention here). However, I am probably able to move to another town/country/planet for graduate studies.

Applied Physics at the RuG is pretty much physics with a few different courses (e.g. Materials Science instead of Geophysics, that kind of thing). I would post a link to the degree requirements, but I need to make ten posts first. :/ Mod note: course contents is here: http://www.rug.nl/ocasys/rug/vak/showpos?opleiding=4967

In any case, some advice would be very much appreciated. :)

Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2012
  2. jcsd
  3. May 11, 2012 #2
    Anyone?

4. May 11, 2012 #3
    Hi KiwiKid, welcome to the forums!

If you'd like to go to graduate school for EE or ME and become an engineer, why not do your undergraduate degree in EE or ME?

5. May 11, 2012 #4
    Thank you. :smile: