1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Applied physics or engineering physics

1. Apr 23, 2016 #1
    I know I see many forums with this question but I still want to know which is the better choice. I am a senior about to graduate and go to University.

I originally wanted to do pure physics undergrad and possible go for astrophysics in phd but I realize getting a job in that is very hard. So my next area of interest would getting a masters in aerospace engineering. The university in going to doesn't have it as an undergrad but rather has it as a concentration under mechanical engineering.

Should I do applied physics and take mechanical engineering electives or do engineering physics (which is not abet accredited) for undergrad in order to go for a masters in aerospace?

The only reason I won't just simply go for majoring in mechanical engineering is that I really am interested in physics so I wanted to take as much classes in it as I can. Thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 23, 2016 #2

billy_joule

Science Advisor

Engineering is not a walk in the park either, engineering degrees are often quoted as having the highest drop out rate and highest workload of all degrees.
    This is a podcast interview with an aeronautical engineer about career planning:
    http://theengineeringcommons.com/episode-83-career-planning/
    He sheds a lot of light on the challenges of entering the aerospace/aeronautical field - How few students make it to graduate, how few of those graduates actually get a job as an engineer and how few of those actually get to do the job they wanted to do.

That's fairly normal, aerospace engineering is a subdiscipline of mechanical.