1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Apply for UK or US graduate schools?

1. May 1, 2010 #1
    Hi everyone, I'm a newbie in this forum :) I have some questions regarding application for graduate study and need your help.
    I'm currently a year 3 student and coming to final year of undergraduate life, majoring in Materials Science & Engineering. I'm considering apply for graduate schools in UK or US, but don't know which one is better. Of course, anyone can say I may apply for both. However, I also need to prepare for either IELTS or TOEFL+GRE and these are somewhat associated with my university choice. May I ask for your suggestion of UK or US, given two universities of similar quality, regarding some criteria:
    - preference of industry/research institutions (in other word, my future career)
    - availability of scholarship
    - which one tends to be easier to get in.

In addition, I'm going to graduate in June 2011. Can I apply for Oct 2011 intake this year (while I'm still in undergrad) or I have to wait until I got the bachelor degree and apply for Oct 2012 intake?

Pls help! ^^
    Thanks everyone.

2. jcsd
  3. May 2, 2010 #2
    I am in the UK,

Don't come here, go to US or perhaps China, UK has recently had its funding budget slashed again thanks to bailing out banks.
    There are no industries here other than banking

Absolutely nearly zero scholarship for foreign student

Well, with all that conditions, not many people, by choice would do Phd here, the top of the top would go to America, its more competitive but you do have better career opportunity and probably better research opportunity.

4. May 3, 2010 #3