1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Archimede's Principle to Make a Cup Float to Certain Height

1. Aug 23, 2016 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I am given a water tank, a small plastic cup, and some gravel. How could I use Archimede's principle to determine how much gravel to put in the plastic cup such that it sinks to a certain point (namely the rim), but then floats, so that no water is let inside the cup?

2. Relevant equations
    I'd imagine the most relevant equations to this problem would be those of pressure, buoyant force, mg in general, and density.

I am quite unsure of where to start, let alone calculate the exact value. I have limited knowledge of buoyant mechanics, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 23, 2016 #2

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hello TV, :welcome:
    Can you formulate Archimedes' principle ?

4. Aug 23, 2016 #3
    Hello, thank you. Archimedes principle states that the weight of fluid displaced is equal to the buoyant force on an object submerged in a fluid. I am unsure of how to apply it to solve this problem.

5. Aug 23, 2016 #4
    Are you allowed to weigh the gravel, or do you have to determine what level to pour it to in the cup?

6. Aug 23, 2016 #5

haruspex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Right.
    Clearly you will need to know or measure some facts about the cup, gravel and water. Are you given any, or tools with which to measure? What facts do you think would help?
    Is "how much" gravel in terms of mass or volume?

7. Aug 23, 2016 #6