Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Are there equations for figuring out inner and outer radii of reducing bends?

1. Feb 4, 2009 #1
    Hi folks. I work as an AutoCAD drafter for a wastewater/water engineering company. I use a manual, the American Pipe Manual to help me draw different types of pipe fittings. When I come to the 90 degree reducing bends, the only information I get is the center radius of the bend. Example: 6"x 4", 90 degree reducing bend has a center radius of 6". But the manual does not give inner and outer radii. So my question is, how do pipe engineers figure out what the radii will be for the inner and outer radii before the casting process. Are there equations to figure out the inner and outer radii, if only given information of the center radius? I'll attach a *.bmp file so you can see an example of what I'm trying to draw.

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 4, 2009 #2
    Hello. Do you actually need the radii? The two yellow quarter circles appear to be normal to the horizontal and vertical planes. In Solidworks, I would just create points on both sides of the center curve at its ends, and connect those points with a quarter arc. The software would then provide me the metrics (length, radius, center, etc.).

4. Feb 4, 2009 #3

Thanks for your reply ThalorB. I don't know Solidworks, so I can't picture what you are trying to explain. In AutoCAD I use a command called offset, but in this case you can't offset the radius because one end of the bend is larger/smaller than the other. Its just something that has been really bugging me. I'm just wondering what Pipe engineers used, if any calculations to create these reducing bends. Anyone?

5. Feb 4, 2009 #4

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

Sure there is:
    [tex]s=r \theta[/tex]

where
    s = arc length
    r = radius
    [tex]\theta[/tex] = angle of arc in radians.