1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Areas of study & Career opportunities

1. Jan 28, 2008 #1

I'm currently a sophomore in high school and have recently become very interested in physics. I do have a respectable number of questions, in which I apologize for any of those who will be reiterating what has been said in previous topics; however I've yet to find any threads which have given me direct answers to what I'm looking for.

I love astronomy. The beauty and elegance of the universe (no reference to Greene's book intended) is just spectacular. For this reason, the prospect of being an "astrophysicist" obviously sounds rather appealing. Question is: what exactly is (or is it are?) astrophysics?

Secondly, what all is there to theoretical physics? I know of superstring theory being labeled as theoretical physics; but what else does the field entail?

Thirdly, what are the career opportunities available for these fields? If I were to be employed at a university, what else is there other than just teaching (which is far from an attractive thought)? What sort of research facilities/government organizations/etc would be in sight (and, more importantly, what in the heck will I be doing)?

Responses are highly appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 28, 2008 #2
    Astrophysics: physics on a length scale greater that 10^8 m. (That's the diameter of the earth.)

As for theoretical physics - well, string theory and particle physics get all the press - but there's really a lot more to it than that. Theoretical physicists also work on predicting the behaviour of slightly larger systems:

- superconductivity (modeling the underlying physics of materials which carry electric current without resistance at low temperatures)