1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

As a female, am I inherently bad at "top tier" maths/physics?

1. Nov 21, 2015 #1
    Hi
    I'm in college (UK) and i'm currently studying for my A levels...Including the subjects: Maths,Further maths and Physics.I'm doing pretty well at school, and i spend a great deal of my free time studying maths/physics for pleasure.My "dream job" would be to work as a physicist in academia.I have intentions of studying physics at university, and i would like to attempt a career in the subject. I REALLY love physics and mathematics, but sometimes i feel as if i'm biologically "handicapped" due to being female, especially at higher tier/university levels. Sometimes I feel this is true so much so that I believe that attempting a career in science would almost be a waste of time. Even if i were to decide that i'm probably not up to high level mathematics..I cant imagine myself never studying it independently, as it gives me so much pleasure.

Do you think it's "worth my time" to study maths/physics formally, considering the fact that i am female?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 21, 2015 #2

fresh_42

Staff: Mentor

4. Nov 21, 2015 #3