1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Balance proves gravity isn't a force

1. Aug 11, 2010 #1
    consider a weight balance with two unequal masses on the two arms.It comes to rest after tilting a few degrees. If one of the masses really experienced a greater force, then there is no reason why the balance shouldn't tilt 90 degrees

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 11, 2010 #2

bapowell

Science Advisor

What kind of scale is this that comes to rest after tilting a few degrees? I'm not a scale expert, but I think the kind of scale you are envisioning has a counter-weight on it, that you adjust to achieve equilibrium.

4. Aug 11, 2010 #3

HallsofIvy

Science Advisor

Only because there is friction in the pivot. If you have a a balance with no (or very little) friction it will tile 90 degrees.

5. Aug 11, 2010 #4

Ich

Science Advisor

They place the center pivot a little bit higher than the eyes where you attach the pan. (http://visual.merriam-webster.com/images/science/measuring-devices/measure-weight/beam-balance.jpg" [Broken]).
    That proves that they know how to build balances, but nothing about gravity.

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  6. Aug 11, 2010 #5
    I think other posters have already answered it, but I'm curious:
    If gravity isn't a force, what is gravity?

7. Aug 11, 2010 #6
    Gravity is the effect of curvature of space-time rather than a force.

8. Aug 11, 2010 #7
    To add:
    In non-intertial reference frames, gravity can be treated as a resulting psuedo-force, on the same level as the centrifugal and coriolis forces.

9. Aug 11, 2010 #8

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor