1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Best next step for tackling quantum mechanics?

1. May 13, 2014 #1
    I'm a high school student who has completed classical mechanics and electrodynamics with calculus (equiv. AP Physics C).

I'm interested in learning quantum mechanics as soon as I can. I've heard of kids my age who are learning that stuff already. Then I open a textbook and see crazy stuff like Legendre polynomials, Dirac delta function, tensors, etc.

Should I put quantum mechanics aside for now and just learn math? Should I learn MV Calc, linear algebra, and differential equations before tackling quantum mechanics and beyond?

I've come to appreciate so much of modern physics but it has always bugged me how far I am from understanding things like Einstein's field equations and Schrodinger's wave equation. For instance, I tried reading a paper recently and I couldn't even fully understand how the Minkowski metric works.

2. jcsd
  3. May 13, 2014 #2
    I never took AP physics so I'm not completely sure what you have actually covered in CM and E+M but you may want to spend some time developing a deeper understanding of those, as well as mathematical prerequisites first. For example, have you been exposed to Lagrangian and Hamiltonian formulations in classical mech? What about boundary value problems in electromagnetism? In order to really understand these things, you will need vector calculus and differential equations. I would suggest not trying to rush into quantum mechanics without having the proper foundations.

4. May 13, 2014 #3