1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Building a library of physics and math texts

1. Sep 24, 2007 #1
    Hi,

A group of curious laymen have entrusted me with a curious project. I've been asked to build a small library of physics and math texts that intelligent students and adults may use to self-study the equivalent of a graduate course. This should include a mix of both introductory texts and more advanced comprehensive works. One member has expressed a desire that rigour, elegance and beauty of presentation be emphasised, though this of course has to be balanced by accessibility, since the goal is self-study rather than a formal academic setting. I've some knowledge about physics, so I've managed to compile the following list:

Classical Mechanics:
    01)Kleppner and Kolenkow
    02)Marion Thornton
    03)Goldstein
    04)Landau
    05)Greiner-Point Particles and Relativity
    06)Greiner-Systems of Particles and Hamiltonian Dynamics
    07)VI Arnold
    08)Sussman-Structure and Interpretation
    09)Coulson-Wave Motion
    Electrodynamics:
    10)Griffiths
    11)Greiner
    12)Lorrain and Corson
    13)Landau
    14)Jackson
    Fluid Mechanics:
    15)Kundu, Cohen
    16)Landau
    17)Chorin, Marsden
    Optics:
    18)Guenther
    19)Born, Wolf
    20)Shen
    GTR:
    21)Misner, Thornee, Wheeler
    22)Wald
    23)Weinberg
    QM:
    24)Griffiths
    25)Landau
    26)Sakurai
    27)Shankar
    28)Cohen-Tannoudji
    29)Greiner-QM Intro
    30)Greiner-QM Symmetries
    31)Greiner-Relativistic QM
    Statistical Physics:
    32)Chandler
    33)Greiner
    34)Huang
    35)Reichl
    36)Pathria
    37)Landau Lif****z 1 & 2
    38)Kardanoff-Statistical QM
    QED:
    39)Greiner
    40)Cohen-Tannoudji
    QFT:
    41)Peskin, Shroeder