1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

C programming, where did I get it wrong please

1. Sep 21, 2016 #1
    Edited by mentor to include image inline
    Hello

Please I am practicing my simple basic C Programming using Notepad++ and Cygwin64

I have written tried running the codes in the picture below, it doesn't detect any error when I run it but when I try to 'withdraw some money less Tha the fBalance, it still displays the result insufficient funds, instead of my expected 'You new balance is ... '

I've tried checking what I missed but couldn't find any. Apparently I am still a newbie in the language.

Any suggestions please.
    Simple Banking System.JPG

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 21, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 21, 2016 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

My suggestion is, post your code here directly w/ "code" tags and don't post it twice.

4. Sep 21, 2016 #3
    Sorry, but w/"code" tags, not clear on that. But I have copied the code directly now. Please be free to comment on any other aspect of the code presented below.

Mod note: Added code tags to the code below.
    Code (C):

/*Simple Banking System*/
    # include <stdio.h>
    int main ()
    {
      int iSelection;
      int iTransAmount=0.0;
      float fBalance=100.25;

printf("\n\tATM\n");
     printf("\n1\tDeposit Funds\n");
     printf("2\tWithdaw Funds\n");
     printf("\nEnter your Selection:");

scanf("%d",&iSelection);

if (iSelection==1){
        printf("\nEnter Fund Amount to Deposit:");
        scanf("%f",&iTransAmount);
        printf("\nYour new balance is: $%.2f\n",fBalance + iTransAmount);
      } //end if

if (iSelection==2){
        printf("Enter Fund Amount to Withdraw:");
        if (iTransAmount > fBalance)
        printf("\nInsufficient Funds\n");
      else