Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculate the redshift of a galaxy that is 650 Mpc away

1. Apr 13, 2010 #1
    How do I calculate the redshift of a galaxy that is 650 Mpc away if I am only told its spectral lines should show a redshift z=.15?
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 13, 2010 #2
    Re: Confused

If its spectral lines show a redshift of 0.15 then.... that is the redshift?
  4. Apr 13, 2010 #3

Of course...you are right....what I should have asked was:
    Is it true that a galaxy 650 Mpc's away has a redshift of z=.15.
    If it is true, how do you know?
  5. Apr 13, 2010 #4
  6. Apr 14, 2010 #5

This is not a homework question... I am a mature student studying Astronomy for the first time. This is a question in an assignment and an explanation of the correct answer might help me to better understand the relationship between distance and redshift and how this is expressed in maths.
  7. Apr 14, 2010 #6

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2017 Award

8. Apr 14, 2010 #7

Awww, beat me to it! :rofl:

I'm officially 'wary' now.
  9. Apr 14, 2010 #8
    Re: Redshifts

Nothing to be weary off... I am interested in Astronomy and it is the basic stuff which I am finding difficult.. A friend suggested I try posting questions on this site.
    Sorry if that offends...
    Anyway, any suggestions you have to the question would be much appreciated.
  10. Apr 14, 2010 #9

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

encourage mature students who go back for more astronomy

I think I understand your situation, maybe. Sometimes in a textbook they have examples and exercises to THINK ABOUT, but you don't have to hand in your answer for a grade.

Then someone here could help you understand the concepts and think about the example.