1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculate the retarding force of a cyclist on a slope

1. Nov 17, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A cyclist attacks a 20% hill, the mass of the cyclist plus the bike is 100kg. Assuming g = 10 N kg^-1 , calculate the size of the retarding force due to gravity, acting along the slope.

2. Relevant equations
    g = 10 N kg^-1 , Work = Force x Displacement,

3. The attempt at a solution
    I was thinking that maybe resolving into vertical and horizontal components of the cyclists weight but am not quite sure how this would work. I have never worked a retarding force on a slope before. Some guidance please? Thanks

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2014 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

You have the right idea. Draw the free body diagram (FBD) for the cyclist. The weight of the cyclist points down toward the center of the Earth, and that will give you components parallel to the slope and perpendicular to the slope. The component parallel to the slope is the retarding force. If the slope is horizontal (0%), there will be no retarding force, and all of the weight is straight down. If the slope is 100% (45 degrees), how much of the rider's weight is the retarding force?

4. Nov 17, 2014 #3
    If the slope was 100%, would the horizontal component be 0 and the vertical (retarding) be all of the rider's weight?

5. Nov 17, 2014 #4

berkeman

No. a 100% slope is 45 degrees. Rise/Run = 1.0 = 100%.

6. Nov 17, 2014 #5
    I'm struggling to see how to use that to find the two components :/

7. Nov 17, 2014 #6

berkeman