Can anyone explain the Grashof Criterion ?

• Thread starter M110020
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Explain
In summary, the Grashof Criterion states that in a planar four-bar linkage, the sum of the shortest and longest link must be less than or equal to the sum of the remaining two links in order for continuous relative motion between the links to occur. This is represented by the equation L_{max}+L_{min}\leqL_{a}+L_{b}. There is a mathematical equation to prove this, as shown in the provided article.
M110020
Hi, I'm a university second year Mechanical Engineering student and I'm new to this module of Kinematics and Dynamics of Machinery and I've just learned the concept of the Grashof Criterion where "The sum of the shortest and longest link of a planar four-bar linkage cannot be greater than the sum of remaining two links if there is to be continuous relative motion between the links."

L[itex]_{max}[/itex]+L[itex]_{min}[/itex][itex]\leq[/itex]L[itex]_{a}[/itex]+L[itex]_{b}[/itex]

Can anyone explain to me why is it so? Why must the sum of the max and min linkages be longer than the other 2?? Is there a mathematical equation to prove this? Thanks for the assistance :)

Engineering news on Phys.org

What is the Grashof Criterion?

The Grashof Criterion is a mathematical equation used to determine the stability of a fluid flow. It is used to analyze the behavior of fluids in different situations, such as heat transfer and fluid flow through pipes.

How is the Grashof Criterion calculated?

The Grashof Criterion is calculated by taking the product of the Grashof number and the Prandtl number. The Grashof number is a dimensionless parameter that represents the ratio of buoyancy forces to viscous forces, while the Prandtl number is a measure of the heat transfer capability of a fluid.

What does the Grashof number represent?