1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can anyone verify if this logic has truth

1. Nov 5, 2007 #1
    Can anyone verify if this logic has truth!!!

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

My friend and I were having a chat about a friend that got injured on a water slide. He started to explain the physics of her body and its movement on a water slide and not being a physicist I want to see if someone can verify his logic. Heres the way i recall his explanation... all name and locations are change to protect identities :)

Me: Now when you were talking about forces of gravity and speeds on a water slide, you don't really know what the force of gravity was on jessica on the particular slides at waterland, right?

My Friend: Well, we know it's 32 feet per second per second your acceleration, and your forces, mass times acceleration. So its your body weight times your acceleration. I'm not a great physicist, but it can be figure out pretty easily by multiplying her weight in kilograms or actually her weight in pounds by 32 feet per second and your gonna get the forces. There gonna be several times body weight.

Me: But you really can't say what those are. I mean your not a physicist, right, your not--

My Friend: No I'm not a physicist, but the numbers are easy to figure, by even a lay person whos taken basic physics. It's mass, her body weight, times acceleration, 32 feet per second per second. you only need to know how many second she was on the slide. You know what her weight is and the 32 feet is constant. You don't need to be a physicist to figure out the force.

Me: But speed is a factor, right?

My Friend: speed is 32 feet per second per second gravity.

Me: that's in a free fall, in a vacuum right?