1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can I get accepted to a PhD program from a non-ranked school?

1. Dec 14, 2013 #1
    I am looking to transfer from community college, and my school options are limited due to finances and my poor academic background. My only options so far are some unknown schools that are not even ranked 100 in the state, and they don't have any money to perform research. So I will probably not be able to do any research unless an REU accepts me (seems unlikely since I have little experience from community college), which will only be one summer of research experience. Can one still get into a PhD program even though they have little/no research?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 14, 2013 #2

Student100

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

I don't see why not Phiz, if you go to a small enough school maybe you can talk your professors into doing something interesting that might qualify as research or at least an interesting senior thesis.

Why is your academic background poor?

4. Dec 14, 2013 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

If you end up at a school that does little or no research itself, that will actually give you an advantage in applying for many REUs. One of the original missions of the REU program was to provide research experience for students at schools like that.

5. Dec 14, 2013 #4