Can I make a banana from nothing?

Excuse the simplified question title. I have very little knowledge in the world of organic chemistry, and chemistry alone.

If I looked at the composition of banana (atomically), and then I got a little jar full of every element that is necessary to a banana's composition, could I make a banana?

I understand the challenges of the energy required to physically manipulate atoms.. but is this theoreticall ypossible? Could I create cells from pure atoms? What would it take to make this possible? Besides the gazillions of years required to do this... How much energy would be required to make the bonds? How could one manipulate the bonds/atoms?

Thanks!

Answers and Replies

SteamKing
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Excuse the simplified question title. I have very little knowledge in the world of organic chemistry, and chemistry alone.

If I looked at the composition of banana (atomically), and then I got a little jar full of every element that is necessary to a banana's composition, could I make a banana?

I understand the challenges of the energy required to physically manipulate atoms.. but is this theoreticall ypossible? Could I create cells from pure atoms? What would it take to make this possible? Besides the gazillions of years required to do this... How much energy would be required to make the bonds? How could one manipulate the bonds/atoms?

Thanks!
In a nutshell, no you can't create a banana (or anything else that complex) by manipulating a jar of its chemical constituents. That's why bananas are still grown: it's much easier to cultivate and harvest the natural article than to try to do it the mad scientist way. :rolleyes:

In a nutshell, no you can't create a banana
okay well thanks for your response, but instead of saying yes or no, can you clarify why?

SteamKing
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
okay well thanks for your response, but instead of saying yes or no, can you clarify why?