Can the Earth have an asteroid stuck in permanent orbit like our moon?

In summary, an asteroid can become trapped in an orbit around Earth, but it is very rare and would require the right conditions.
TitanRZ
Good morning,

I've searched about this case in the internet but just found things about asteriods sharing the same orbit as Earth over the sun, but I wonder if an asteroid can get stuck in Earth's orbit like the moon.

Thanks!

Astronomy news on Phys.org
I am not a scientist of any sort, just a huge fan of the universe that likes to read about it. I have just finished a book called Cosmos by Giles Sparrow and I have learned that large gas giants such as Jupiter and Saturn have irregularly shaped moons which are believed to be asteroids who have become trapped by the tremendous gravity of the large planets.
With that being said I could not say for certain that an asteroid could become trapped in an orbit around Earth. I do not know the specific formulas to calculate gravitational effects on orbital patterns, however I imagine if an asteroid with a specific size and velocity came within a specific distance to the Earth it could be pulled into orbit. Probably very elliptical at first and over time would orbit in a more circular pattern.

Anyone with actual knowledge of this please correct anything I said that is misleading or wrong.

It's entirely plausible that an asteroid could fall into orbit around the world, given the right altitude and speed.

ryan_m_b said:
It's entirely plausible that an asteroid could fall into orbit around the world, given the right altitude and speed.

Thanks for the fast answer!

Not wanting too much to ask. There is any software or math formula to calculate this?

I wonder what is the maximum size of this asteroid.

TitanRZ said:

Not wanting too much to ask. There is any software or math formula to calculate this?

Maximum size would be one that's large enough to affect the orbits of Earth and Moon.