1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engineering Can you do advanced engineering without an advanced degree?

1. Aug 28, 2016 #1
    Hi, I'm a student and I'm trying to decide what particular field I should study and how much time I should spend in school. I'm interested in engineering and would like to do advanced engineering that would be intellectually challenging and use advanced math and physics. However, I would rather not spend a lot of time in school. Is it feasible for an engineer to advance their carer and learn the necessary skills through job experience and/or self teaching? Or will the lack of an advanced degree, and/or a degree in the right field, limit ones carer and what type of work they can do.

From reading some of the threads here, I get the impression that a PhD in engineering won't help someones carer prospects much more than a masters in engineering. But will a masters in engineering make a big difference in someones carer prospects compared to a bachelors?

Also, is it difficult for someone who gets a degree in physics to go into engineering and do advanced work? Is there a way for someone who gets a degree in physics to make it more marketable to engineer employers, such as by taking engineering courses?

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 29, 2016 #2

Grinkle

Gold Member

An advanced degree will make it easier for you to market yourself to employers. It would probably make enough salary difference that you would see more $$ over the course of your career with an advanced degree than without, considering the cost of the degree and the years in school, not working.