What is the charge on carbonate ion

• Thread starter sponsoredwalk
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Charge Ion
In summary: This rule is very limited - NO2-, SO32-, ClO2-, ClO3-, ClO4- (not to mention OCl-), MnO4- & MnO42-, HxPyOz acids and so on. List of exclusions is longer than the list of inclusions (not sure if that's in English, but hopefully you will get what I mean)...oxides can react with water to form oxyacids.For other oxides/oxyacids it is similar.
sponsoredwalk
Hi, I m 21 and am studying Chemistry in my spare time, I haven't done it since i was 15 so I am only a beginner and i do not understand simple things lol, Here's one such example;

carbonate ion, CO3^2-, is a polyatomic anion with 1 carbon atom and 3 oxygen atoms.
The ion has two units of negative charge as there are two more electrons (32) than protons (30).

Now how is this so? Oxygen ions have a 2- charge, so 3 of them would equal 6- charge,
and although my book does not say it, i suppose carbon has a 4- charge being a non-metal, but this would equal a 10- charge... So i have two questions really,

Alpha) Can you explain the carbonate ion to me
Beta) What, if any, is the charge on Carbon.

Thanks a lot, i know this is a physics forum but i am having no Physics problems so far (not at QED yet lol)

Physics news on Phys.org
Polyatomics are not built of ions, so you can't assume oxygens are -6 and carbon is -4.

For the detemination of charges for polyatomic ions, you should use the standard oxidation values for each of the atoms that make up the ion. Carbon can either be + or -4. Which do you think it is? Hint: think of the electronegativity of oxygen vs carbon and determine which atom will grab electrons and which will release electrons.

http://gohs.tvusd.k12.ca.us/TeacherWebs/Science/itaylor/Global/WS/Electronegativity%20chart.pdf

Last edited by a moderator:
chemisttree said: