Career in Theoretical/Experimental Physics through Chemistry

In summary, the conversation is about someone interested in pursuing a career in physics, despite currently studying chemistry. They are considering applying for a PhD program in theoretical chemistry at Oxford, but also wondering if they can enter into post-graduate research in physics. They have some concerns about their lack of formal education in mathematics but believe they could excel in physics with more practice. They are also interested in merging their passion for science with philosophy. The conversation also mentions some examples of chemists going on to do chemical physics in graduate school and the possibility of doing a PhD in physics in the UK.
Wavefunction12
Hi everybody,

Have followed this forum for a year or so and decided it's about time to sign up. I have a couple of questions regarding my career. I'm currently a 2nd year Chemist, with interests in quantum/theoretical chemistry. My plans at the moment are leaning towards applying for a PhD program in theoretical chemistry at Oxford.
Basically what I want to ask is, how can I approach a career in Physics? Does it depend on post-graduate applications etc?
My biggest issue at the moment is that throughout my education, I only entered into school around GCSE time, and didn't take maths at A-level. I still managed to achieve AAAA at A-level though.
Despite teaching myself as much maths as I can whilst concentrating on my degree, I still struggle to understand the mathematics within Griffiths Intro to QM.
I feel like if I could master the maths, I could excel within physics, and with interests in philosophy I would love to merge my passion for science with philosophy (theoretical). Do you believe this is possible? With regards to PhD programs etc...

Regards,

P.T

Physics news on Phys.org
If you want to be a physicist, doesn't it make sense to change your major to physics?

Vanadium 50 said: